Stephen Schwartz Musical Theatre Scholarship Supporting a new generation of talent

In September 2007, The Human Race Theatre Company created a scholarship that honors the musical theatre legend Stephen Schwartz - composer of Godspell, Pippin, The Baker’s Wife, Children of Eden, Working, Wicked - and The Human Race’s regional premiere of Snapshots: A Musical Scrapbook. The Stephen Schwartz Musical Theatre Scholarship is designed to support singer/actors in the greater Dayton area who are training for a career in musical theatre.

“We are so excited to recognize the incredible lifetime of work by Stephen Schwartz while assisting talented young performers from our region,” stated Human Race President & Artistic Director Kevin Moore. “With the founding support of Tim and Char Scroggins, and many additional gifts, to date we have awarded over $30,000 worth of scholarships to 37 very talented students.”

“The musical theatre survives and flourishes only with the infusion of new talent,” said award-winning composer Stephen Schwartz. “I’ve always tried to support and encourage emerging talent, and so I am proud and excited to have this scholarship named for me.”

Check back for the next application process.

Schwartz Scholarship Requirements

All applicants must have a permanent address in Montgomery County or one of seven contiguous counties (Preble, Darke, Miami, Clark, Greene, Warren or Butler) or be currently enrolled at a college or high school in one of the eight counties previously listed.

The winners will be selected based upon their application, letter of recommendation and their video submission. All materials must be received by the deadline in order to be considered. Winners must be available for a public appearance in the Dayton area.

If you are interested in donating to the Schwartz Scholarship fund, please contact President and Artistic Director Kevin Moore at (937) 461-3823, ext. 3115 or

Previous Scholarship Winners


Nathan Pecchia
Wright State University

Cecily Dowd
Centerville High School


Jasmine Easler
Wright State University
Brianna Russ
Archbishop Alter High School


Mimi Klipstine
Wright State University
Rachel Woeste
Archbishop Alter High School


Carly Snyder of Centerville High School and Andrew Quiett of Wright State University with Stephen Schwartz. Photo courtesy of Wright State University.


Erin Ullman
Centerville High School
Zachary Jordan Steele
Wright State University


Mimi Klipstine Dick, Interlochen Arts Academy with Producing Artistic Director Kevin Moore
Alexandra Finke, University of Michigan with Kevin Moore


Charity Farrell, Wright State University with Stephen Schwartz and Kevin Moore
Andrew Koslow, University of Oklahoma with Stephen Schwartz and Kevin Moore
Finalists with Stephen Schwartz - Rachel Jones, Hilary Fingerman, Charlie Mann, Kelsey Hopkins, Schwartz, Charity Farrell, Alexandra Sunderhaus, Andrew Koslow


James C. Blanchard
Cincinnati Christian High School
Jason Slattery
Baldwin-Wallace College
Finalists with Stephen Schwartz: Brandon Michael Fleming, high school winner James C. Blanchard (Cincinnati Christian High School), Kelsey Celek, Lucian Smith, Schwartz, Will Hutcheson, Lindsay Flick, Annabeth Kane, college winner Jason Slattery (Baldwin-Wallace College)


Jason Slattery, J.J. Tiemeyer, college winner Jerome Doerger (Wright State University), Eric Byrd, Lindsay Flick, high school winner Alexandra Finke (Alter High School), Katelyn Yeager, Andrew Koslow